O.C.D.

O.C.D.

 

Curator: Duan Shaofeng

Artists: Ge Ziyu | Jiang Chuan | Kong Lingxin | Liu Buhua | Li Tingwei | Su Yi 

          | Zhao Yanfeng

Prior to this exhibit we had plans to organize an abstract painting show. However, through our exchanges with the artists we discovered that both abstract painting and so-called figurative painting in the end are equally concerned with objective phenomena. Abstractly rendered light and color are in themselves objectively present. Yet despite being very real, they are unfathomable. Figurative art is also often based on the same manifestations of color and light. However if we were to truly aspire to depict light and color in their ultimate forms, this would be a tricky undertaking. Hence, the artworks in this show can be seen as actually making use of figurative realistic qualities to present a kind of abstract external presence.
 

Beauty does not reside exclusively in the visual realm. In most cases an additional, indescribable sensation is involved in the equation. If we were to summarize the subtleties of these paintings, the visual beauty and that of feeling would form an integral whole.If there is light, there is color. Most of the artists in this exhibit are devoted to the search for such a sensation of pure light, as well as the boundaries between brightness and shade created by light, and those between colors. A peculiar state of creation arises from this process of searching for boundaries. After several exchanges with the artists, O.C.D. became a generally accepted condition. This shifted the ultimate problematic from the finished artwork back to the artist himself. Art should be a process of which the artwork is merely a result. Oftentimes this process gets easily neglected in art exhibits. The three abstractly significant letters forming the abbreviation “O.C.D.” (short for “Obsessive Compulsive Disorder”) are a summary of the abovementioned condition by which artists are inflicted. Hence, in this show we don’t just get to see abstractly rendered artworks, but rather the artists’ ineffable creational process made abstract.

A prime characteristic of O.C.D. is the simultaneous manifestation of conscious self-compulsion and conscious anti-compulsion of the self. People who display such behavior know perfectly well that despite the senselessness and irrationality of sustained symptoms of compulsive behavior, they keep appearing and are unable to be suppressed. The harder one tries to suppress them, the more anxious and vexed one feels.


Gerhard Richter once said: “Art creates perception, then bestows images on it.” Departing from this subtle entry point, this exhibit aspires to raise a twofold discussion about how the artist envisions the boundaries between color and lighting, and between the notions of figurative and abstract.

强迫症
强迫症
 
策展人:段少锋
艺术家:戈子馀 | 姜川 | 孔令昕 | 李亭葳 | 刘卜华 | 苏艺 | 赵燕峰
在这个展览之前我们尝试去做一个抽象绘画的展览,但是在与艺术家交流的过程中发现,无论是抽象绘画还是所谓的具象绘画最后关注的都是一个客观物,抽象的光与颜色本身就是一个客观存在,它们很真实却又无法捉摸,具象往往也是基于这些颜色和光,但是如果真正要追求对极致的光和颜色的描绘时就会变得很困难。由此我想这些作品其实在用一种具象写实的精神来呈现了一种抽象的外在。
 
美不单单属于视觉,大多时候还有一种不可名状的感受,我想如果来概括这些作品的微妙之处的时候,这种视觉和感受上的美是一体的。有了光,于是就有了颜色,本次展览的艺术家大多在致力于寻找这种纯粹的光的感受,光造成的明暗的界限,以及颜色之间的界限。在寻找界限的过程中就出现了一种奇妙的创作状态,在与艺术家几次的交流之后,强迫症成为一个被普遍接受的状态,恰好这样最终问题又从作品本身回归到了艺术家自身,艺术应该是一个过程,而作品只是一个结果,往往我们在展览中容易忽略掉的恰恰是这个过程,O.C.D(Obsessive-compulsive disorder的缩写,即所谓的强迫症),这个有抽象意味的三个字母概括了艺术家的这种状态,所以这个展览呈现的不仅仅是一个个抽象化的作品,而是一种抽象化的不可名状的艺术家创作过程。
 
“以有意识的自我强迫与有意识的自我反强迫同时存在为特征,有这种症状的人明知强迫症状的持续存在毫无意义且不合理,却不能克制的反复出现,愈是企图努力抵制,反而愈感到紧张和痛苦。”
 
格哈特.里希特说:“艺术创造感知并赋予感知以形象”。我想本次展览希望从这个细微的切入点来引入一个艺术家对于色彩与光影的界限,具象和抽象之间的界限这两者的讨论。