MUTED MYSTERIES
Muted Mysteries
 
Curator : Ru Jie
Artists: Guo Lijun | Meng Zhigang | Xu Xinwu | Yan Ke

The ancient Chinese poet Bai Juyi commented as follows on the topic of April (the month comprising both the Qingming and Guyu solar terms): “In men’s realm, after the fourth month, blossoms have all but spent.” Hence, April seems to be portrayed as a realm of tranquility. The season of spring belongs to the world of poems. The late Chinese poet Haizi chose to take his own life in springtime, with the parting words “In spring, ten Haizi’s are fully reborn.” In the north of China, spring heralds a long process of bidding farewell to winter, and constitutes the dawn of a new world. In the final sequence of Jia Zhangke’s film The World, a man asks a woman: “Have we all died?” to which the woman responds: “We’ve only just begun.”

 

As April heralds a tranquil spring, four artists will present four different artistic approaches to viewing the world.

 

After his series of architecturally inspired works, Meng Zhigang started to take an interest in the spaces of everyday life. He searches for generic, abstract spatial patterns in the mundane, concrete realm of life. He primarily depicts pure geometric spaces, such as the oft-reappearing Taihu-stones with their oriental aesthetic sensibilities, which combine objective spaces from everyday life carrying cold, abstract overtones with objects that have a tranquil, oriental beauty to them. The paintings of Meng Zhigang possess an ethos of divine embodiment. An artist who similarly portrays spaces of everyday life is Guo Lijun. Meng Zhigang being more concerned with the structural beauty of everyday spaces, what Guo Lijun is trying to convey by depicting the spaces of everyday life on mirrors, is a type of living space that is both phantasmagoric and real at any given time. As all things in existence are essentially mirrored objects, depictions by the artist will sometimes be depictions of such mirrored objects. In his creations, Guo Lijun uses performance as a method of expressing these mirrored images, imagined and real at the same time.

 

Artists Yan Ke and Xu Xinwu are concerned with two opposite extremes. Yan Ke portrays his subjects as microscopic still lifes. In this exhibit, Yan Ke explores the seasons from a microcosmic vantage point, approximating that which people of ancient times referred to with the metonymic saying “the fall of a single leaf heralds the coming of autumn” (一叶知秋 yi ye zhi qiu). Apart from dealing with the microcosm, Yan Ke’s microcosmic viewing angle also comes through in his intricate and meticulous depiction of objective images. The microscopic view portrays the state in which objective entities find themselves, and aptly reflects the subtleties of the artist’s creation. Perhaps the intended meaning of Yan Ke’s works is best illustrated with a line from the Doctrine of the Mean: “In order to carry out the full breadth of things, one must exhaust their refined essence.”

 
 

Xu Xinwu, on the other hand, makes use of the same sort of abstraction in all his paintings, with portrayals ranging from the macrocosmic realm to objective spaces. From these pertinent depictions, the artist tries hard to distil meaning that is both macroscopic and intrinsic. If Yan Ke’s paintings can be said to present us with ordinary marvels, then Xu Xinwu’s paintings are about pursuing intrinsic qualities through the depiction of the vastly immense.

 

As spring stealthily dawns upon us in the month of April, the works of these four artists present us with the aura of muted mysteries.

沉默如谜
沉默如谜
 
策展人:茹洁
艺术家:郭立军 | 蒙志刚 | 徐新武 | 言稞
四月,在农历中包含了清明、谷雨两个节气,白居易写道:人间四月芳菲尽,因此四月似乎被描绘为一个寂静之境。春天是一个属于诗歌的季节,在春天诗人海子选择离开,最后他的遗言却是“在春天,十个海子全部复活”。北方的春天是一个漫长冬季的告别,也是一个全新世界的开始。贾樟柯在《世界》的最后,男人问女人:我们都死了吗?女人说道:我们只是刚刚开始。
 
四月里的寂静之春,四位艺术家为这个春天呈现四种不同的艺术家观看世界的方式。
 
蒙志刚在建筑系列之后开始关注日常生活的空间,他尝试从日常具体的生活情境中寻找类冷抽象的空间格局,他描绘的空间大多是纯净的几何空间,而其中若隐若现的具有东方审美意味的太湖石,将具有冷抽象审美意味的客观日常空间和有着东方寂静之美的器物并置于一处,蒙志刚的绘画呈现出一种神居之所的气质。同样将日常生活空间作为描绘对象的还有郭立军,如果说蒙志刚关注的是日常生活空间的建构之美,那么郭立军在镜子上将日常生活空间描绘出来要表达的却是一种亦幻亦真的生活空间,世间万物本是镜像之物,而艺术家的描绘有时是镜像之物的描绘,郭立军这种创作方式将对于这种镜像之物的亦假亦真用行为表达出来。
 
而言稞和徐新武关注的恰好是两个相反的极端,言稞的描绘对象是日常生活的微观静物,本次言稞用微观来呈现季节,达到古人所谓一叶知秋的意境。在微观之外,言稞的微观视角还体现在对于客观物象详细和工整的刻画上,这种微观既是客观对象的状态,也体现了艺术家创作的精微之处,所谓尽精微致广大,言稞的作品本意或许正是如此。而徐新武的绘画却是从宏观宇宙世界到客观空间的描绘都采取一种类抽象的方式,艺术家似乎在这种描绘中努力找出宏观和本质的意义,如果说言稞的绘画是一种平凡的奇观,那么徐新武的绘画是一种基于宏大意象描绘的对于本质追求。
 
这四位艺术家的作品在寂静之春到来的四月呈现出沉默如谜的气息。